

Staff Report City of Manhattan Beach

TO:	Honorable Mayor Ward and Members of the City Council
THROUGH:	Geoff Dolan, City Manager
FROM:	Sherilyn Lombos, Deputy City Manager
DATE:	September 5, 2006
SUBJECT:	Consideration of the Appointment of a Community Facility Strategic Plan Steering Committee

RECOMMENDATION:

The Council sub-committee and staff recommend that the City Council appoint the identified 17 residents to the Community Facility Strategic Plan Steering Committee.

FISCAL IMPLICATION:

There is no fiscal implication associated with staff's recommendation.

BACKGROUND:

At the July 18, 2006 Council meeting, the City Council discussed appointing a steering committee for the Community Facility Strategic Plan and agreed that the sub-committee should advertise and recruit a steering committee that represents a diverse cross-section of interests in the community and bring back a recommendation to the Council for appointment. Advertisements were placed in the Beach Reporter on July 20th and July 27th requesting that anyone interested fill out an application and submit it to the City for consideration. Approximately 60 community members expressed interest in the steering committee (see attached list of applications received).

DISCUSSION:

The sub-committee met and discussed all of the applications and the make-up of the committee. The sub-committee focused on putting together a committee made up of between 15 and 20 members that represents a diverse cross-section of the community and brings a wide variety of skills, networks and interests to the process. Specifically, the sub-committee wanted to bring together a group of people that represent or bring together the following:

- 1) A balance of representation from the senior community and parents of school-aged children.
- 2) Bring a valuable professional skill such as architecture, urban planning, investment, finance, general business, marketing, engineering, accounting, real estate and development.

3) Represent a diverse interest or have significant community contacts with key community elements such as local sports organizations, senior organizations, religious organizations, the scouting community, the art community, youth organizations, the library community and the aquatics community.

Each individual in the group that the sub-committee is recommending falls within at least two of the three categories listed above. It should be noted that as part of the Council discussion on July 18th, it was decided that existing Board and Commission members would not be eligible for appointment to this committee (this is because the commissions will have a scheduled opportunity to participate in the process). After careful consideration and discussion the sub-committee is recommending the following individuals for the Facility Strategic Plan Steering Committee:

Susan Adams Jim Aldinger – City Council Representative Lisa Baronsky Ken Deemer Joe Franklin Amy Howorth - School Board Representative Sherry Kramer Bruce Kuch Russ Lesser Jim McCaverty Ed Stearns Nick Tell – City Council Representative Ida VanderPoorte - School Board Representative Karol Wahlberg Gary Wayland Larry Wolf Alison Wright

Each of these individuals brings different interests, skills, networks, and backgrounds that the subcommittee believes together will form a dynamic steering committee. The sub-committee wishes to thank everyone who took the time to fill out an application; the interest in this committee was overwhelming.

The first Steering Committee meeting is scheduled for 6:30 pm, Thursday, September 14, 2006 in the Police/Fire Conference Room. The first Community Meeting has been scheduled for Wednesday, September 27 at 6:30 pm. The meeting will be held at either Joslyn Center or Manhattan Heights. We will soon be promoting this meeting and are hoping to have 150 residents participate.

Attachments: A. Applicants for the Facility Strategic Plan Steering Committee

Susan Adams Dilip B. Adarkar Philip Alexander Margaret Alvarez Ron Barone Lisa Baronsky Theresa Cantine James Combs Dina Cramer Lester Davidson Ken Deemer Thomas Fisher Delpha Flad Bill Fournell Stewart Fournier Joe Franklin Marty Friedman James H Gill James R Gill Ned Gill (Parks & Rec Commission) Carol Glover (MB Chamber of Commerce) Lissen Gregory-Schnack Lynn Harris (Parks & Rec Commission) Robert Huberman Nancy Humbarger (Library Commission) Jordan Kitaen Sherry Kramer Bruce Kuch Ed Lear (Parks & Rec Commission) Larry Lemoine Russ Lesser Kathy Lundberg Nancy Madden Ralph Mailloux Patrick McBride Jim McCaverty James McCoy Robert McMullen Chuck Milam Steven P. Nicholson (Parks & Rec Commission) Sara E. Oberlies Gary Osterhout (PPIC) Kathleen Paralusz (PPIC) Krupal Patel David W. Pedersen Robert Philip Reimert Dave Salzman Jerry A. Saunders Randall W. Schnack Rochelle Schneider Sandra Seville-Jones (PPIC) Jim Sheekey

Gary D. Stabile (Board of Building Appeals) Ed Stearns Paul Stromgren Miles J. Turpin Peter J. Van Haften Karol Wahlberg Gary Wayland Matthew Michael Whelan Larry Wolf Alison Wright